Skip to content

Week 17 – Onion

December 18, 2009

Baby’s now the size of an onion!
Baby’s skeleton is hardening, changing from rubbery cartilage to bone, and fat is finally accumulating around it. His umbilical cord is getting thicker and stronger, and those little fingers and toes now feature one-of-a-kind prints.

How far along:  17 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  I’m ready with them but no bump yet. Although this week I kept feeling muscle stretching kind of pains so I think I will pop out soon.
Total weight gain:  4 lbs
Sleep:  I’ve been so good about going to bed at a decent hour. It’s been so nice to wake up and not need coffee.
Best moment this week:  Going shopping and noticing all the very pregnant ladies. I will be there soon.
Movement:  I think it’s baby movement. I’m not totally sure if it is or not.
Food cravings:  Nothing out of the ordinary this week. Although, I’ve had a slight craving for mozerella sticks. I’ll have to pick some up at the market.
Food aversions:  Water still tastes too bland to drink, almost gross even. This is too wierd because I’v always been a big water drinker.
Gender:  We’ll find out next week! Our ‘major ultrasound’ is scheduled for Monday.
What I miss:  Sleeping through the whole night.
What I am looking forward to:  Finding out the gender!! Will it be a little ‘man cub’ or ‘Daddy’s Little Girl’?
Milestones:  Neat, Fingerprints!

I’m wishing I can get the nursery set up but we don’t have one right now. We’re planning on moving from our little apartment to hopefully a house in the next few months. I’ll be sure to post pictures of the nursery once it’s all complete.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

