Skip to content

Week 18 – Sweet Potato

December 26, 2009

Baby’s now the size of a sweet potato!
Baby’s become amazingly mobile (compared to you, at least), passing the hours yawning, hiccupping, rolling, twisting, kicking, punching, sucking, and swallowing. And baby is finally big enough that you’ll soon be able to feel her movements.

How far along:  18 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  The belly is starting to show. Christmas was fun because a lot of people noticed the belly.
Total weight gain:  6 lbs
Sleep:  Sometimes it hits me suddenly and I really need to take a nap wherever I’m at.
Best moment this week:  Getting a present for “Baby” at Christmas.
Movement:  Lots of movement this week. He’s really jumping around in there.
Food cravings:  Aunt Idabelle’s English Toffee and Wassel. Christmas favorites.
Food aversions:  Nothing. Really, nothing has a chance around me.
Gender:  We found out this week!! Our little one is a BOY.
What I miss:  Coffee. I’ve asked Jason to describe his coffee drinking to me in detail so I can remember what it was like.
What I am looking forward to:  Wearing my maternity clothes for the first time.
Milestones:  The major ultrasound went perfectly.

We had our major ultrasound this week. It went perfectly. He was squirming around like no tomorrow! The nurse took pictures of all the necessary parts; each arm, each leg, heart, profile, organs, umbilical cord, etc. Jason and I were very excited to find out if it was going to be a little Tyranus or Ayla (the Star Wars names we’ve been running with). One of the best parts was to see him suck his thumb, stretch, roll over to take a nap, and get the hiccups. It all looks like a real person in there! I want an ultrasound every week to see him!  

MOVEMENT! Lots and lots of movement. Jason and I know we are going to have a very active rambunctious baby boy.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

