Skip to content

Week 19 – Mango

January 1, 2010

Baby’s now the size of a mango!
Vernix caseosa, a greasy white substance made of lanugo, oil, and dead skin cells (yum) now coats baby’s skin, shielding it from the amniotic fluid. (Picture yourself after a nine-month bath, and the need for protection makes sense.) You might get to see the vernix at birth, especially if baby is premature.

How far along:  19 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  I actually started wearing some! Mostly to get used to it and to see if I like it better than sqeezing into my regular clothes.
Total weight gain:  8 lbs
Sleep:  I know that once the baby comes I won’t be getting much sleep so I’m really trying to enjoy my 5 hour stretches of sleep. (only 5 hour stretches because I am getting up to use the restroom every night)
Best moment this week:  All around feeling so much movement.
Movement:  Lots of movement this week. He’s really jumping around in there.
Food cravings:  No food cravings, just thirst. My water bottle has always been around me this week. Although, somthing my tastebuds have really been digging this week is yogurt with Just Bunches sprinkled in.
Food aversions:  Nothing. Really, nothing has a chance around me.
Gender:  Boy. I think we have a little karate kid or kick boxer in there!
What I miss:  Not having to worry if I skipped dinner or ate lunch too late. I don’t want to reduce any of the calorie flow to our little boy.
What I am looking forward to:  Getting past the halfway point.
Milestones:  Baby is packing on the pounds… err ounces this week. He’ll gain 2-3 ounces before the end of the week.

With the holidays behind us we  can now really concentrate on finding the perfect hometo raise our little one. We’ve been looking for a while so we know what we want but now’s the time to contact a realtor and a bank and see how much we can qualify for. I sure hope we can find everything we want in our price range.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

