Skip to content

Week 20 – Cantaloupe

January 8, 2010

Baby’s now the size of a cantaloupe!
Baby gulps down several ounces of amniotic fluid every day, both for nutrition and to practice swallowing and digesting. And, these days, those taste buds actually work! Studies show that after birth, babies respond best to tastes they’ve already had via amniotic fluid. Meaning, think about what you’d like your future child to eat as you prepare your own lunch.

How far along:  20 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  Yep! Wearing maternity shirts mixed in with my regular shirts. Still wearing my regular jeans, though with a Bella Band.
Total weight gain:  9 lbs
Sleep:  Lately I’ve been going to bed at about 10ish and wakig up at 5:15. 7 hours of sleep doesn’t seem long enough because I’m still tired some days.
Best moment this week:  Helping Jason feel so many kicks!
Movement:  YES! I have a kick boxer or soccer player practicing in there.
Food cravings:  A mocha. Hot chocolate has been keeping my tastbuds at ease so far.
Food aversions:  It’s been hard to get a taste for vegetables. Although I have no problem with fruit.
Gender:  Boy. I think we have a little karate kid or kick boxer in there!
What I miss:  Having energy all day.
What I am looking forward to:  Looking pregnant and not just like I have a big belly.
Milestones:  Baby is learning what tastes good and what doesn’t! Maybe that’s why I want criscut fries.

Made it to the half way point!

My belly seemed to ‘pop’ this week. My shirts all got snug at the same time. I’m actually starting to look and feel pregnant instead of just fat.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

