Skip to content

Week 21 – Banana

January 15, 2010

Baby’s now the size of a banana!
Baby’s digestive system is busy creating meconium (a tarry black substance made of swallowed amniotic fluid, digestive secretion, and dead cells), which will fill the first diaper after birth. And, if baby is a girl, her womb is now stocked up with her lifetime supply of six million eggs (the number will drop to around one million by birth).

How far along:  21 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  Yep! Wearing maternity shirts mixed in with my regular shirts. Still wearing my regular jeans, though with a Bella Band.
Total weight gain:  11 lbs
Sleep:  Okay, I’m adjusting my sleep schedule since I’m tired a lot.
Best moment this week:  Being supermom to Trenton. I brought him a pizza and crazy bread at lunch time to share with his friends. I really hope he doesn’t feel pushed aside in this whole process and that I can still be supermom for him.
Movement:  I’ve figured out his schedule. He’s active at 10 am, 2 pm, and again at 6pm. I’m not sure about middle of the night.
Food cravings:  Milk. Yes, I’m lactose intolerant but I’ve been wanting milk. I can drink a small cup without any ill effects.
Food aversions:  Vegies.
Gender:  Boy. I think we have a little karate kid or kick boxer in there!
What I miss:  Carrying all my groceries and not feeling helpless by not taking everything all at once.
What I am looking forward to:  Registering and picking out all the fun baby stuff.
Milestones:  Finally past the halfway point and now I really need to get going on all this nursery stuff. I feel so ill prepared.

Belly growth hasn’t been too extreme this week. Not like the pop of last week. I love looking a little more pregnant besides just looking pregnant with the ta tas.

I have a pregnancy journal book and it’s so cute, I have to rave about it. It’s the Belly Book by Amy K. Rosenthal. You can journal about your food cravings, when your belly popped, how your appetite is, etc. The multiple choice questions are so cute. I whole heartedly recommend this book to any pregnant lady out there.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

