Skip to content

Week 27 – Cauliflower

February 27, 2010

Baby’s now the size of a cauliflower!
Baby’s lungs are going through some major developments these days, which (combined with the opening of previously plugged nostrils) means he’s now able to practice inhaling and exhaling. The lack of air in your womb means every “breath” is filled with amniotic fluid, but hey — it’s progress.

How far along: 27 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  Maternity shirts are a must. Still wearing my regular jeans.
Total weight gain: 20 lbs
Belly Button: Still in but looks like it might pop in the next couple of weeks.
Sleep: I need more. I’m getting tired all the time which reminds me of the first trimester.
Best moment this week: Our Anniversary. We went out to dinner and I was still able to squeeze myself into a dress! An empire waist dress, but still a very cute dress. 🙂
Food cravings: Tomatoes. Especially sauce on pizza, spaghetti, etc.
Food aversions: Nothing in particular.
Gender: A little brother for Trenton.
What I miss:  Sitting down and getting up without making verbal noises like a big pregnant lady.
What I am looking forward to: Getting to the third trimester! Oh, am I already there?
Milestones: Brainwaves for the auditory and visual systems are detectable in baby’s noggin this week! I guess I’ll have to play some classical music for my belly soon. 🙂

I’ve always gotten headaches and dizzy spells so I wasn’t too worried when I continued to get them now. I guess my doctor is a little more concerned about the dizzy spells so now I’m drinking Gatorade to get electrolytes and maybe that will help with my dizziness.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com and 3D Pregnancy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

