Skip to content

Week 28 – Chinese Cabbage

March 5, 2010

Baby’s now the size of an Chinese cabbage!
Baby’s lungs are mature enough that, if born right now, she has a pretty good chance of surviving (with help from medical technology). Her skin is still pretty wrinkly (one byproduct of living in amniotic fluid) but will smoothen as fat continues to deposit.

How far along: 28 Weeks
Maternity clothes:  I’m still getting away with my regular jeans! I don’t feel as big as a house yet, but the bump does get in the way sometimes. I’m convinced I’m bigger at the end of the day than the beginning.
Total weight gain: 20 lbs
Belly Button: Still in but looks like it might pop in the next couple of weeks.
Sleep: I haven’t been as strict about getting to bed on time. Feeling really good the past few weeks has fooled me into believing I don’t need the extra sleep.
Best moment this week: Spending all Saturday with Jason playing computer games and watching tv.
Food cravings: Nothing out of the ordinary.
Food aversions: Nothing in particular.
Gender: A kicking ninja.
What I miss:  My morning coffee.
What I am looking forward to: Painting and decorating the nursery.
Milestones: I have two: I made it to the third trimester! I also had the Glucose Tolerance Test this week. Everything came back normal! 🙂

I’m getting more and more used to this whole being pregnant thing. I’m becoming a pro at eating more fruits and vegetables and whole grains, not squeezing into spaces I could before (like walking down the hallway at work with other people crowding the way), and sleeping on my side, etc. I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel and wondering how I will handle the childbirth and having a baby around. I know I’ll have tons of support from both grandmas. They’ll probably be fighting over the chance to be around the baby more with each other. 🙂 Basically, it’s less and less of a distant future event and becomming more and more real.

If you want to find out more about what’s happening with the baby this week, read up the info at theBump.com and 3D Pregnancy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

